Lower Merion Township Banner

34 Derwen Rd

Date of Construction: ca. 1887-96
Original Architect:
Original Owner: Edward Albrecht
Description of the Resource: This was one of five houses built between 1887 and 1896 on a tract of land owned by John L. Ott along what was then called Llanfaire Avenue. Ott had his own house built during this time, and the house at 34 Derwen Road was built on two and a half acres for Edward Albrecht. This house is part of a small neighborhood of residences and buildings dubbed Academyville that were constructed around the Lower Merion Academy. The house has a Colonial Revival fašade with a Second Empire mansard roof. This combination of unlike styles was a common type of architectural eclecticism in the late nineteenth century when this house was built. It is unique for a house to have a mansard roof and to remain unstuccoed. Dormers in mansard roofs are also usually highly ornamental, but the dormers of this house retain their Colonial Revival simplicity with gable-front roofs. The original front porch no longer exists, but there have been additions to the rear of the house, including a one-story, flat-roof hexagonal roof. (10/2012) Stone mansard. Porch removed. (1896 atlas: Edward Albrecht). (88)
Class: 2
Street Classification: Minor
Name of Local Historic District: Not in a local district
Name of National Historic District: Not applicable
Reviewed By: Historical Commission
Inventory Index Number: BC015

A Photograph of the Resource will appear here if one is available. Note: Not all resources have photographs.


© Township of Lower Merion 2002-2014