Lower Merion Township Banner

400 Belmont Ave

Date of Construction: 1927
Original Architect:
Original Owner: Edward Carroll Co. Granite Works
Description of the Resource: Nestled between Westminster and West Laurel Hill cemeteries along Belmont Avenue is this small one-and-a-half-story masonry building set at an angle to the street. At first glance it appears to be a miniature version of a Main Line estate house of fine cut stone with a slate roof and limestone framing around the entrance door. It was the sales office for the gravestone and monument-carving business of the Edward A. Carroll Granite Works. The office itself was a testament to the companyís skill with native stone. Carrollís company dates back at least to 1882, when Carroll shared the property with Albrechtís Nurseries, which had greenhouses for plants and flowers on the same lot. In 1910, Albrechtís moved to Montgomery Avenue in Narberth, and in 1927, Carroll expanded the operation and built this lovely Tudor Revival faux home. (10/2012) 1908 Atlas -- Thompson & Carroll 1913 Edward A Carroll Granite Works This small Tudor-style building was the one-story office building for the Edward A. Carroll Granite Works established ca. 1888.
Class: 2
Street Classification: Primary
Name of Local Historic District: Not in a local district
Name of National Historic District: Not applicable
Reviewed By: Historical Commission
Inventory Index Number: BC049

A Photograph of the Resource will appear here if one is available. Note: Not all resources have photographs.


© Township of Lower Merion 2002-2014