Lower Merion Township Banner

417 Bryn Mawr Ave

Date of Construction: ca. 1887-96
Original Architect:
Original Owner: Mrs. M.E. Barr
Description of the Resource: This stone and shingle Queen Anne house was built on the property of Mrs. M. E. Barr. George W. Barr was an extensive landowner, and the property passed between Mrs. Barr and George W. Barr up until 1913-1920 when it was sold to R. H. Grigg. The house was built on the edge of Thomas G. Lodge’s vast estate, the namesake of the nearby Lodges Lane that encircles this property. The house was built between 1887 and 1896 and displays the typical eclecticism of Queen Anne variants. The house has a unique and interesting roofline; it is an intersecting clipped gable with dormers and window openings of various shapes and sizes. The front (southwest) façade has a gable-roof twin dormer with eaves that carry into the roof on the right and a hipped-roof bay window on the left. The house has a front porch with thin pediment over the entry and a side (southeast) porch as well. There is a small one-story extension from the rear of the house and a gable-roof outbuilding that was built between 1908 and 1913. (10/2012) Queen Anne stone/shingle house. (1896 atlas: M.E. Barr). (91)
Class: 2
Street Classification: Minor
Name of Local Historic District: Not in a local district
Name of National Historic District: Not applicable
Reviewed By: Historical Commission
Inventory Index Number: BC051

A Photograph of the Resource will appear here if one is available. Note: Not all resources have photographs.


© Township of Lower Merion 2002-2014