Lower Merion Township Banner

594 Black Rock Rd

Date of Construction: ca. 1896-1900
Original Architect: Keen & Mead
Original Owner: Samuel J Magarge
Description of the Resource: “Swarthmore Lodge,” was designed by the well-known Philadelphian architecture firm, Keen & Mead, in 1898 for Samuel J. Magarge. This grand Craftsman-style house is situated on the end of a curving driveway at the intersection of Old Gulph and Black Rock roads. The unique house is constructed of stone-and-stucco, and features a two-tiered roof design, with a large pent eave above the first floor and a side gabled roof with three dormers above the second floor. The pent eave serves as cover for an inset porch that extends the entire length of the western half of the house. The eastern half of the house is set back from the western half and has the same pent eave, though the porch below is enclosed. A second floor porch on the far western part of the building is sheltered by the roof and enclosed by a low railing that extends across the western half of the building. Magarge owned the 13 acre lot until the mid 1910s, when it was purchased by Harry Thayer, who renamed the estate, “Many Corners.” Approximately fifteen years later, the estate was renamed “Swarthmore Lodge” when it was purchased by John Grange. The property was subdivided in the early 1940s and the house was once again briefly renamed “Roxmont.” Attached garage added 1964. (8/2012) A turn of the century stucco Arts & Crafts house built for Samuel Magargee in 1898 and 1901 by Keen & Mead and called "Swarthmore Lodge".
Class: 2
Street Classification: Tertiary
Name of Local Historic District: Not in a local district
Name of National Historic District: Not applicable
Reviewed By: Historical Commission
Inventory Index Number: BM053

A Photograph of the Resource will appear here if one is available. Note: Not all resources have photographs.


© Township of Lower Merion 2002-2014