Lower Merion Township Banner

11 Conshohocken State Rd

Date of Construction: 1794
Original Architect:
Original Owner: Jonathan Robeson
Description of the Resource: This stone-and-stucco residence was begun in 1794-95 by Jonathan Robeson on a 25-acre lot adjacent to Mill Creek. The house was gradually enlarged by its subsequent owners. The 2-1/2 story house currently sits on a two-acre lot on Conshohocken State Road, atop a hill facing Mill Creek. The main (south) fašade features six bays and a large, one-story Colonial-Revival porch. A large two-story Colonial-Revival porch supported by four large Doric columns is located on the east fašade. Its unique, Second-Empire style, slate mansard roof with pedimented dormers was added in the mid 19th century. Soon after purchase of the property and initial construction of the house, Robeson built a paper mill, called Fairview, and joined his neighbors in the paper mill industry that dominated the Mill Creek region until the 1820s. In 1813, the house and mill were sold to Jacob Hagy, a prominent papermaker. Around 1825, following the fall of the local paper industry, Fairview mill was converted or rebuilt as a woolen mill. Following Hagys death in 1846, the property changed hands several times until it was sold to Seth Humphreys in 1872 who successfully operated the woolen mill for around thirty years. In the 20th century, the large mill property was divided as the area grew in density. Today, the property is in the Mill Creek Increase National Register Historic District. (8/2012)
Class: 1
Street Classification: Secondary
Name of Local Historic District: Not in a local district
Name of National Historic District: Mill Creek Increase
Reviewed By: Historical Commission
Inventory Index Number: GL005

A Photograph of the Resource will appear here if one is available. Note: Not all resources have photographs.


© Township of Lower Merion 2002-2014